Creating believable characters

I’m not an expert at this one at all, but for me a believable character is a character who is completely real. Someone who isn’t always perfect. A girl who leaves the light on when she leaves a room or stands in front of the refrigerator with the door open for way too long waiting for something to jump out at her…as in food that wasn’t there in the first place.

Also, a believable character has a lot of strengths. They have positive traits, but they also have negative traits and that’s okay. Some people might hate them when reading about them, but most people will understand them because they are just like other people.

I use a lot of books when writing, but my most used ones are by an amazing author named Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi. They have a lot of helpful guides to writing, such as “The Emotion Thesaurus,” “The Positive Trait Thesaurus” and “The Negative Trait Thesaurus.” I use these books so much they are worn at the seams because they help me make my characters the most believable version of themselves that I can make them into.

Now, the easiest way when I’m writing to make sure my characters act the right way is by putting myself into the situation and seeing how I would react. I’m far from perfect…just ask my husband…which makes my reaction perfect because it’s believable. It’s flawed and it isn’t perfect and that is exactly what I want it to be.

It’s okay for you character to whine sometimes, or the be the biggest superbitch this world has ever seen because in reality some people are like that. It doesn’t make them perfect, it just makes them real.

What books do you use when writing? What are your go-to books? Share what works for you-I’m always up for suggestions on writing books.

Leave a Reply

