Friday Nights

It’s been a while since my last blog post, but I’m finally back, with much more time on my hands. Okay, not really more time, more like more redirected time. I’ve had to do some shuffling, but I’m finally ready to get back to writing. Whoop! Whoop!

Last Friday night, on my way home from work I got a little reminiscent. I’m not sure why, but I started thinking about when I was young. A teenager.  How different my Friday nights have become. When I was a teenager, Friday nights meant a free weekend. It meant plans. Who I could make them with. What we could be doing. In October, Friday nights meant going to every Haunted House we could get to. Acting like they didn’t scare me. Of course, that was always the fun part.

But now, Friday nights mean rushing home. Changing in to my PJ’s as quickly as I possibly can. Vegging in front of the TV with my hubby and relaxing because most of the time, I’m not off on the weekends and I just have no time anymore to veg out. Everybody needs to veg. Don’t you think?

Friday nights in October mean trying to make sure my kids have the perfect Halloween costume for trick or treat. Carving or painting pumpkins. The overall, how can I get everything done by Halloween? And, somehow, every single year, I do it with spare time.

The point of this is simple. Fifteen years ago was my last year of High School, and ever since my Friday nights aren’t the same. They have changed over the years. Grown. Now, it’s not about how much fun I can have on the weekends or who I’m going to hang out with. Now it’s more about how many movies my family and I can watch and how many board games we can play. And even though things have changed so much, I’m okay with it. I’m exactly where I wanted to be at this age. And I’m just fine with it.

Leave a Reply

