White Tiles

I haven’t had much time to write a post lately, but last night as I was sweeping my kitchen floor, I had a thought. Who picks the color white for a kitchen floor. Sure, it looks nice, but let’s be realistic. It’s horrible to clean, and my white tiles looks orange and brown in spots after years of use. On my hands and knees, cleaning these tiles, those spots don’t fade. They stay strong, perfect little imperfections in my floor. And then it dawned on me. Those imperfections are a lot like life.

We trudge along our day-to-day lives, and as much as we strive for perfection, we can never achieve it. There is always something that goes wrong, and always more that goes right. At least, that’s how I look at things. So, the imperfections that come along are actually exactly what we need to show us that life isn’t perfect. Nothing is. And that is what makes it beautiful, and different. Those spots that always look dirty are needed to get us where we’re going. To make us see that although stains aren’t always welcome, they are unavoidable. Years go by, and the traffic through the floor of my kitchen will grow as my children have friends over, and more stains will be added to the old ones. And each spot on that white tile floor will make me remember something about my past. Will make me think about my children dropping bits of food from their high chairs. So maybe, just maybe, those stains will change to something special.

I know, a lot of words for a few stains, right? I’m rambling about spots on my floor. But these ramblings and grumblings about a few darkened spots on the floor have given me the revelation that sometimes, stains are just what you need in your life. Having a perfectly white floor may look clean, and sharp, but it can also be very plain. The stains on my floor show that I’ve lived, and I will love each and every one of them when I’m old and gray and look back on the life that I’ve had.

One thought on “White Tiles”

  1. Nice thoughts 🙂 A loving house is never spotless! Growing up, my parents had a speckly orange and yellow floor. Fab for hiding bits of food 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

